## SCHOOL BOARD MINUTES

The Nemo Vista School Board met in regular session, Thursday, February 16, 2017 at 6:30 pm. The following members were present: Freddie Kirtley, Olivia Baker, Mandy Cates, Melissa Eller, Jenifer Andrews, and Andy Isely (6:41 pm). Also in attendance were Cody Beene, Superintendent, Shade Gilbert, High School Principal, Tresa Virden, K-8 Principal, and Logan Williams, High School Dean of Students. The meeting was called to order by President Jenifer Andrews.

The following motions were put before the Board:

- Motion by Mandy Cates to approve the minutes from the 1-19-17 board meeting. Motion seconded by Olivia Baker. Motion passed 5 to 0.
- Motion by Freddie Kirtley to accept the resignation of High School Principal, Shade Gilbert, as of June 30, 2017. Motion seconded by Olivia Baker. Motion passed 5 to 0.
- Motion by Mandy Cates to hire Kristen L. Treglown as K-12 Art Teacher for the 2017-2018 school year. Motion seconded by Melissa Eller. Motion passed 6 to 0.
- 4. Motion by Olivia Baker to add the following to the 2016-2017 substitute list: Loren A. Andrews.
  Motion seconded by Melissa Eller.
  Motion passed 6 to 0.
- Motion by Mandy Cates to approve board policy and amendments, to be effective for the 2017-2018 school year. Motion seconded by Freddie Kirtley. Motion passed 6 to 0.
- Motion by Olivia Baker to approve the January 2017 financial report. Motion seconded by Melissa Eller. Motion passed 6 to 0.
- 7. Motion by Olivia Baker to re-schedule Elementary event day from March 17, 2017 to April 28, 2017.
  Motion seconded by Mandy Cates.
  Motion passed 6 to 0.

Minutes February 16, 2017 Page 2

- Motion by Melissa Eller to hire Lisa Freeman as Elementary Teacher for the 2017-2018 school year. Motion seconded by Freddie Kirtley. Motion passed 6 to 0.
- Motion by Freddie Kirtley to leave executive session. Motion seconded by Andy Isely. Motion passed 6 to 0.
- 10. Motion by Olivia Baker to extend K-8 Principal contract of Tresa Virden to June 30, 2018.
  Motion seconded by Mandy Cates.
  Motion passed 6 to 0.
- Motion by Melissa Eller to adjourn the meeting. Motion seconded by Andy Isely. Motion passed 6 to 0, meeting adjourned.

SECRETARY

PRESIDENT